Bible Book List

Yehoshua 12 Orthodox Jewish Bible (OJB)

12 Now these are the melachim HaAretz, which the Bnei Yisroel conquered, and possessed their land beyond the Yarden toward the rising of the shemesh, from the Arnon Valley unto Mt Chermon, and kol HaAravah on the east;

Sichon Melech HaEmori, who reigned in Cheshbon, and ruled from Aroer, which is upon the rim of the Arnon Valley, and from the middle of the valley, and from half Gil‘ad, even unto the River Yabbok, which is the border of the Bnei Ammon;

And from the Aravah to the Yam Kinnerot on the east, and unto the Yam HaAravah, even the Yam HaMelach [i.e., Dead Sea] on the east, derech to Beit-HaYeshimot; and from the south, below Ashdot-HaPisgah;

And the territory of Og Melech HaBashan, from the last of the Repha’im, that reigned at Ashtarot and at Edre’i,

And reigned in Mt Chermon, and in Salkhah, and in kol HaBashan, unto the border of the Geshuri and the Maachati, and half Gil‘ad, the border of Sichon Melech Cheshbon.

These did Moshe Eved Hashem and the Bnei Yisroel conquer; and Moshe Eved Hashem gave it for a possession unto the Reuveni, and the Gadi, and the half shevet HaMenasheh.

And these are the melachim of HaAretz which Yehoshua and the Bnei Yisroel conquered on the west side of the Yarden, from Baal-Gad in the valley of Levanon even unto the Har HeChalak, that goeth up to Seir; which Yehoshua gave unto the Shivtei Yisroel for a yerushah (possession) according to their divisions;

In the har, and in the Shefelah, and in the Aravah, and in the slopes, and in the midbar, and in the Negev; the Chivi, HaEmori, and the Kena’ani, the Perizzi, the Chivi, and the Yevusi;

The Melech Yericho, one; the Melech Ai, which is near Beit-El, one;

10 The Melech Yerushalayim, one; the Melech Chevron, one;

11 The Melech Yarmut, one; the Melech Lachish, one;

12 The Melech Eglon, one; the Melech Gezer, one;

13 The Melech Devir, one; the Melech Geder, one;

14 The Melech Chormah, one; the Melech Arad, one;

15 The Melech Livnah, one; the Melech Adullam, one;

16 The Melech Makkedah, one; the Melech Beit-El, one;

17 The Melech Tapuach, one; the Melech Chepher, one;

18 The Melech Aphek, one; the Melech Lasharon, one;

19 The Melech Madon, one; the Melech Chatzor, one;

20 The Melech Shimron-Meron, one; the Melech Achshaph, one;

21 The Melech Taanach, one; the Melech Megiddo, one;

22 The Melech Kedesh, one; the Melech Yokne’am in Carmel, one;

23 The Melech Dor in the heights of Dor, one; the Melech Goyim of Gilgal, one;

24 The Melech Tirtzah, one: kol melachim sheloshim v’echad.

Orthodox Jewish Bible (OJB)

Copyright © 2002, 2003, 2008, 2010, 2011 by Artists for Israel International

Joshua 12 New International Version (NIV)

List of Defeated Kings

12 These are the kings of the land whom the Israelites had defeated and whose territory they took over east of the Jordan, from the Arnon Gorge to Mount Hermon, including all the eastern side of the Arabah:

Sihon king of the Amorites, who reigned in Heshbon.

He ruled from Aroer on the rim of the Arnon Gorge—from the middle of the gorge—to the Jabbok River, which is the border of the Ammonites. This included half of Gilead. He also ruled over the eastern Arabah from the Sea of Galilee[a] to the Sea of the Arabah (that is, the Dead Sea), to Beth Jeshimoth, and then southward below the slopes of Pisgah.

And the territory of Og king of Bashan, one of the last of the Rephaites, who reigned in Ashtaroth and Edrei.

He ruled over Mount Hermon, Salekah, all of Bashan to the border of the people of Geshur and Maakah, and half of Gilead to the border of Sihon king of Heshbon.

Moses, the servant of the Lord, and the Israelites conquered them. And Moses the servant of the Lord gave their land to the Reubenites, the Gadites and the half-tribe of Manasseh to be their possession.

Here is a list of the kings of the land that Joshua and the Israelites conquered on the west side of the Jordan, from Baal Gad in the Valley of Lebanon to Mount Halak, which rises toward Seir. Joshua gave their lands as an inheritance to the tribes of Israel according to their tribal divisions. The lands included the hill country, the western foothills, the Arabah, the mountain slopes, the wilderness and the Negev. These were the lands of the Hittites, Amorites, Canaanites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites. These were the kings:

the king of Jerichoone
the king of Ai (near Bethel)one
10 the king of Jerusalemone
the king of Hebronone
11 the king of Jarmuthone
the king of Lachishone
12 the king of Eglonone
the king of Gezerone
13 the king of Debirone
the king of Gederone
14 the king of Hormahone
the king of Aradone
15 the king of Libnahone
the king of Adullamone
16 the king of Makkedahone
the king of Bethelone
17 the king of Tappuahone
the king of Hepherone
18 the king of Aphekone
the king of Lasharonone
19 the king of Madonone
the king of Hazorone
20 the king of Shimron Meronone
the king of Akshaphone
21 the king of Taanachone
the king of Megiddoone
22 the king of Kedeshone
the king of Jokneam in Carmelone
23 the king of Dor (in Naphoth Dor)one
the king of Goyim in Gilgalone
24 the king of Tirzahone
thirty-one kings in all.


  1. Joshua 12:3 Hebrew Kinnereth
New International Version (NIV)

Holy Bible, New International Version®, NIV® Copyright ©1973, 1978, 1984, 2011 by Biblica, Inc.® Used by permission. All rights reserved worldwide.

Viewing of
Cross references