Bible Book List

Joshua 12 Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition (RSVCE)

The Kings Conquered by Moses

12 Now these are the kings of the land, whom the people of Israel defeated, and took possession of their land beyond the Jordan toward the sunrising, from the valley of the Arnon to Mount Hermon, with all the Arabah eastward: Sihon king of the Amorites who dwelt at Heshbon, and ruled from Aro′er, which is on the edge of the valley of the Arnon, and from the middle of the valley as far as the river Jabbok, the boundary of the Ammonites, that is, half of Gilead, and the Arabah to the Sea of Chin′neroth eastward, and in the direction of Beth-jesh′imoth, to the sea of the Arabah, the Salt Sea, southward to the foot of the slopes of Pisgah; and Og[a] king of Bashan, one of the remnant of the Reph′aim, who dwelt at Ash′taroth and at Ed′re-i and ruled over Mount Hermon and Sal′ecah and all Bashan to the boundary of the Gesh′urites and the Ma-ac′athites, and over half of Gilead to the boundary of Sihon king of Heshbon. Moses, the servant of the Lord, and the people of Israel defeated them; and Moses the servant of the Lord gave their land for a possession to the Reubenites and the Gadites and the half-tribe of Manas′seh.

The Kings Conquered by Joshua

And these are the kings of the land whom Joshua and the people of Israel defeated on the west side of the Jordan, from Ba′al-gad in the valley of Lebanon to Mount Halak, that rises toward Se′ir (and Joshua gave their land to the tribes of Israel as a possession according to their allotments, in the hill country, in the lowland, in the Arabah, in the slopes, in the wilderness, and in the Negeb, the land of the Hittites, the Amorites, the Canaanites, the Per′izzites, the Hivites, and the Jeb′usites): the king of Jericho, one; the king of Ai, which is beside Bethel, one; 10 the king of Jerusalem, one; the king of Hebron, one; 11 the king of Jarmuth, one; the king of Lachish, one; 12 the king of Eglon, one; the king of Gezer, one; 13 the king of Debir, one; the king of Geder, one; 14 the king of Hormah, one; the king of Arad, one; 15 the king of Libnah, one; the king of Adul′lam, one; 16 the king of Makke′dah, one; the king of Bethel, one; 17 the king of Tap′pu-ah, one; the king of Hepher, one; 18 the king of Aphek, one; the king of Lashar′on, one; 19 the king of Madon, one; the king of Hazor, one; 20 the king of Shim′ron-me′ron, one; the king of Ach′shaph, one; 21 the king of Ta′anach, one; the king of Megid′do, one; 22 the king of Kedesh, one; the king of Jok′ne-am in Carmel, one; 23 the king of Dor in Na′phath-dor, one; the king of Goi′im in Galilee,[b] one; 24 the king of Tirzah, one: in all, thirty-one kings.


  1. Joshua 12:4 Gk: Heb the boundary of Og
  2. Joshua 12:23 Gk: Heb Gilgal
Revised Standard Version Catholic Edition (RSVCE)

The Revised Standard Version of the Bible: Catholic Edition, copyright © 1965, 1966 the Division of Christian Education of the National Council of the Churches of Christ in the United States of America. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Bible Gateway Recommends


1 of 1

You'll get this book and many others when you join Bible Gateway Plus. Learn more

Viewing of
Cross references