Add parallel Print Page Options

During the furious accounts of battle, it is hard to see how much has been accomplished. But now we pause to reflect on everything that God has made possible—how many kings, states, and cities the people of Israel have defeated with God’s help. We start with those who fell when Moses was leader, and then go on to all those who have fallen since Joshua has been given command.

12 Here begins a catalog of the conquered, a list of the kings of the land who met defeat against the Israelites, and an accounting of the land the Israelites gained, beginning with the eastern side of the Jordan, from the valley of the Arnon River, north to Mount Hermon, and all the Arabah eastward: King Sihon of the Amorites, who lived at Heshbon and ruled from Aroer (which is on the edge of the Arnon Valley), to the middle of the valley as far north as the river Jabbok, the boundary of the Ammonites (including half of Gilead), and the Arabah to the Sea of Galilee[a] eastward, and in the direction of Beth-jeshimoth, to the Dead Sea,[b] and south to the foot of the slopes of Mount Pisgah; King Og of Bashan, one of the last of the Rephaim giants who lived at Ashtaroth and at Edrei, and who ruled from Mount Hermon and Salecah in the north and over all Bashan to the boundary of the land of the Geshurites and the Maacathites and half of Gilead, south to the boundary of Sihon, king of Heshbon.

It was Moses, the servant of the Eternal, who led the Israelites to defeat these kings; and Moses gave their land to the tribes of Reuben and Gad, and to the half-tribe of Manasseh that would settle east beyond the Jordan.

This is a catalog of the kings of the land whom Joshua and the Israelites defeated west of the Jordan, from the north at Baal-gad in the valley of Lebanon to the south at Mount Halak in the wilderness of Seir. Joshua allotted their land to the tribes of Israel as God directed: in the hill country, in the western foothills, in the Arabah, on the slopes, in the wilderness, and in the Negev (the southern desert), and in all the land of the Hittites, Amorites, Canaanites, Perizzites, Hivites, and Jebusites.

These are the fallen kings, one each: the king of Jericho; the king of Ai, which is next to Bethel; 10 the king of Jerusalem; the king of Hebron; 11 the king of Jarmuth; the king of Lachish; 12 the king of Eglon; the king of Gezer; 13 the king of Debir; the king of Geder; 14 the king of Hormah; the king of Arad; 15 the king of Libnah; the king of Adullam; 16 the king of Makkedah; the king of Bethel; 17 the king of Tappuah; the king of Hepher; 18 the king of Aphek; the king of Lasharon; 19 the king of Madon; the king of Hazor; 20 the king of Shimron-meron; the king of Achshaph; 21 the king of Taanach; the king of Megiddo; 22 the king of Kedesh; the king of Jokneam in Carmel; 23 the king of Dor in Naphath-dor; the king of Goiim in Gilgal; 24 and the king of Tirzah: 31 kings in all.


  1. 12:3 Hebrew, Chinneroth
  2. 12:3 Hebrew, Arabah

List of Defeated Kings

12 These are the kings of the land whom the Israelites had defeated and whose territory they took(A) over east of the Jordan,(B) from the Arnon(C) Gorge to Mount Hermon,(D) including all the eastern side of the Arabah:(E)

Sihon king of the Amorites, who reigned in Heshbon.(F)

He ruled from Aroer(G) on the rim of the Arnon Gorge—from the middle of the gorge—to the Jabbok River,(H) which is the border of the Ammonites.(I) This included half of Gilead.(J) He also ruled over the eastern Arabah from the Sea of Galilee[a](K) to the Sea of the Arabah (that is, the Dead Sea(L)), to Beth Jeshimoth,(M) and then southward below the slopes of Pisgah.(N)

And the territory of Og king of Bashan,(O) one of the last of the Rephaites,(P) who reigned in Ashtaroth(Q) and Edrei.

He ruled over Mount Hermon, Salekah,(R) all of Bashan(S) to the border of the people of Geshur(T) and Maakah,(U) and half of Gilead(V) to the border of Sihon king of Heshbon.

Moses, the servant of the Lord, and the Israelites conquered them.(W) And Moses the servant of the Lord gave their land to the Reubenites, the Gadites and the half-tribe of Manasseh to be their possession.(X)

Here is a list of the kings of the land that Joshua and the Israelites conquered on the west side of the Jordan, from Baal Gad in the Valley of Lebanon(Y) to Mount Halak, which rises toward Seir. Joshua gave their lands as an inheritance to the tribes of Israel according to their tribal divisions. The lands included the hill country, the western foothills, the Arabah, the mountain slopes, the wilderness and the Negev.(Z) These were the lands of the Hittites, Amorites, Canaanites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites. These were the kings:(AA)

the king of Jericho(AB)one
the king of Ai(AC) (near Bethel(AD))one
10 the king of Jerusalem(AE)one
the king of Hebronone
11 the king of Jarmuthone
the king of Lachish(AF)one
12 the king of Eglon(AG)one
the king of Gezer(AH)one
13 the king of Debir(AI)one
the king of Gederone
14 the king of Hormah(AJ)one
the king of Arad(AK)one
15 the king of Libnah(AL)one
the king of Adullam(AM)one
16 the king of Makkedah(AN)one
the king of Bethel(AO)one
17 the king of Tappuah(AP)one
the king of Hepher(AQ)one
18 the king of Aphek(AR)one
the king of Lasharonone
19 the king of Madonone
the king of Hazor(AS)one
20 the king of Shimron Meronone
the king of Akshaph(AT)one
21 the king of Taanach(AU)one
the king of Megiddo(AV)one
22 the king of Kedesh(AW)one
the king of Jokneam(AX) in Carmel(AY)one
23 the king of Dor (in Naphoth Dor(AZ))one
the king of Goyim in Gilgalone
24 the king of Tirzah(BA)one
thirty-one kings in all.(BB)


  1. Joshua 12:3 Hebrew Kinnereth