Bible Book List

Joshua 21:16-18 Living Bible (TLB)

9-16 First to receive their assignment were the priests—the descendants of Aaron, who was a member of the Kohath division of the Levites. The tribes of Judah and Simeon gave them the nine cities[a] listed below, with their surrounding pasturelands:

Hebron, in the Judean hills, as a City of Refuge—it was also called Kiriath-arba (Arba was the father of Anak)—although the fields beyond the city and the surrounding villages were given to Caleb, the son of Jephunneh; Libnah, Jattir, Eshtemoa, Holon, Debir, Ain, Juttah, and Beth-shemesh.

17-18 The tribe of Benjamin gave them these four cities and their pasturelands: Gibeon, Gaba, Anathoth, and Almon.


  1. Joshua 21:9 the nine cities, implied in v. 16, where a subtotal is indicated in the original text.
Living Bible (TLB)

The Living Bible copyright © 1971 by Tyndale House Foundation. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois 60188. All rights reserved.

Bible Gateway Recommends

Living Bible: Large Print, Green Padded Hardcover
Living Bible: Large Print, Green Padded Hardcover
Retail: $34.99
Our Price: $22.99Save: $12.00 (34%)
4.5 of 5.0 stars
Buy Now

1 of 1

You'll get this book and many others when you join Bible Gateway Plus. Learn more

Viewing of
Cross references