Add parallel Print Page Options

The Conquered Kings East of the Jordan

12 The following are the kings of the land whom the people of Israel struck down and then took possession of their land, which was east of the Jordan toward the rising of the sun, from the Arnon Canyon to Mount Hermon, including all of the Arabah east of the Jordan.

The first was Sihon king of the Amorites, who lived in Heshbon. He ruled over the territory that extends from Aroer, which is on the edge of the Arnon Canyon, and from the middle of the canyon[a] all the way north to the Jabbok Canyon, which is the border of the Ammonites. This includes half of Gilead. He also ruled over the eastern part of the Arabah[b] from the Sea of Kinneret[c] south as far as the Sea of the Arabah, which is the Salt Sea,[d] and east in the direction of Beth Jeshimoth and south as far as the slopes of Pisgah.

The second area was the territory of Og king of Bashan, who was from a remnant of the Rephaim[e] and who lived in Ashtaroth and in Edrei. He was ruler in Mount Hermon, in Salekah, and in all Bashan up to the border of the Geshurites and the Ma’akathites,[f] and in half of Gilead as far south as the border of Sihon king of Heshbon.

Moses, the servant of the Lord, and the people of Israel struck them down. Moses, the servant of the Lord, gave this land east of the Jordan as a possession to the tribe of Reuben, to the tribe of Gad, and to the half tribe of Manasseh.

The Conquered Kings West of the Jordan

The following are the kings of the land that Joshua and the people of Israel struck down in the area west of the Jordan, from Baal Gad in the Valley of Lebanon to Mount Halak, which rises toward Seir. Joshua gave it to the tribes of Israel as a possession according to their allotments, which were in the hill country, in the Shephelah, in the Arabah, on the slopes, in the wilderness, and in the Negev—land that formerly was the land of the Hittites, the Amorites, the Canaanites, the Perizzites, the Hivites, and the Jebusites:

the king of Jerichoone
the king of Ai, which is next to Bethelone
10 the king of Jerusalemone
the king of Hebronone
11 the king of Jarmuthone
the king of Lachishone
12 the king of Eglonone
the king of Gezerone
13 the king of Debirone
the king of Gederone
14 the king of Hormahone
the king of Aradone
15 the king of Libnahone
the king of Adullamone
16 the king of Makkedahone
the king of Bethelone
17 the king of Tappuahone
the king of Hepherone
18 the king of Aphekone
the king for the Sharon Plain[g]one
19 the king of Madonone
the king of Hazorone
20 the king of Shimron Meronone
the king of Akshaphone
21 the king of Ta’anachone
the king of Megiddoone
22 the king of Kedeshone
the king of Jokneam in Carmelone
23 the king of Dor in Naphoth Dorone
the king of Goyim in Gilgalone
24 the king of Tirzahone
all of the kingsthirty-one.


  1. Joshua 12:2 The parallel passage in Joshua 13:9 reads from the city that is in the middle of the canyon.
  2. Joshua 12:3 That is, the deep valley which contains the Jordan River
  3. Joshua 12:3 That is, the Sea of Galilee
  4. Joshua 12:3 That is, the Dead Sea
  5. Joshua 12:4 Rephaim is the name of a group of people known for their great height. Og, as well as the strong warriors who fought David’s elite warriors (2 Samuel 21:16-20), were Rephaim. Goliath likely was also one of them. Their name seems to have come from a forefather named Rapha (2 Samuel 21:16). They seem to have been the earliest inhabitants of the land. By the time of the judges only a remnant of them was left. They were also known as Emim and Zamzummim.
  6. Joshua 12:5 The stop mark ′ indicates that the double a should be pronounced as two syllables, Ma-ak.
  7. Joshua 12:18 Or of Lasharon