Add parallel Print Page Options

12 These are the kings of the land whom the people of Isra’el defeated and of whose land they took possession, across the Yarden toward the east, from the Arnon Valley to Mount Hermon and all the ‘Aravah eastward:

Sichon king of the Emori, who lived in Heshbon and ruled the territory that includes ‘Aro‘er, at the edge of the Arnon Valley; the middle of the valley; half of Gil‘ad, to the Yabok River, which forms the border with the people of ‘Amon; the ‘Aravah to Lake Kinneret eastward and to the sea of the ‘Aravah, the Dead Sea, eastward by way of Beit-Yeshimot and on the south under the slopes of Pisgah.

There was also the territory of ‘Og king of Bashan, who belonged to the remnant of the Refa’im. He lived at ‘Ashtarot and at Edre‘i; and he ruled Mount Hermon; Salkhah; all Bashan, to the border with the G’shuri and the Ma‘akhati; and half of Gil‘ad, to its border with Sichon king of Heshbon.

Moshe the servant of Adonai, with the people of Isra’el, defeated them; and Moshe the servant of Adonai gave it to the Re’uveni, the Gadi and the half-tribe of M’nasheh as their possession.

7-8 Following are the kings of the land whom Y’hoshua, with the people of Isra’el, defeated in the area west of the Yarden, between Ba‘al-Gad in the L’vanon Valley and the bare mountain that goes up to Se‘ir. Y’hoshua gave this land, inhabited by the Hitti, Emori, Kena‘ani, P’rizi, Hivi and Y’vusi, to the tribes of Isra’el to possess, according to their divisions, in the hills, the Sh’felah, the ‘Aravah, the mountain slopes, the desert and the Negev:

the king of Yericho,
the king of ‘Ai, by Beit-El,
10 the king of Yerushalayim,
the king of Hevron,
11 the king of Yarmut,
the king of Lakhish,
12 the king of ‘Eglon,
the king of Gezer,
13 the king of D’vir,
the king of Geder,
14 the king of Hormah,
the king of ‘Arad,
15 the king of Livnah,
the king of ‘Adulam,
16 the king of Makkedah,
the king of Beit-El,
17 the king of Tapuach,
the king of Hefer,
18 the king of Afek,
the king of Sharon,
19 the king of Madon,
the king of Hatzor,
20 the king of Shimron-M’ron,
the king of Akhshaf,
21 the king of Ta‘anakh,
the king of Megiddo,
22 the king of Kedesh,
the king of Yokne‘am in Karmel,
23 the king of Dor in the region of Dor,
the king of Goyim in the Gilgal, and
24 the king of Tirtzah —

making a total of thirty-one kings.

List of Defeated Kings

12 These are the kings of the land whom the Israelites had defeated and whose territory they took(A) over east of the Jordan,(B) from the Arnon(C) Gorge to Mount Hermon,(D) including all the eastern side of the Arabah:(E)

Sihon king of the Amorites, who reigned in Heshbon.(F)

He ruled from Aroer(G) on the rim of the Arnon Gorge—from the middle of the gorge—to the Jabbok River,(H) which is the border of the Ammonites.(I) This included half of Gilead.(J) He also ruled over the eastern Arabah from the Sea of Galilee[a](K) to the Sea of the Arabah (that is, the Dead Sea(L)), to Beth Jeshimoth,(M) and then southward below the slopes of Pisgah.(N)

And the territory of Og king of Bashan,(O) one of the last of the Rephaites,(P) who reigned in Ashtaroth(Q) and Edrei.

He ruled over Mount Hermon, Salekah,(R) all of Bashan(S) to the border of the people of Geshur(T) and Maakah,(U) and half of Gilead(V) to the border of Sihon king of Heshbon.

Moses, the servant of the Lord, and the Israelites conquered them.(W) And Moses the servant of the Lord gave their land to the Reubenites, the Gadites and the half-tribe of Manasseh to be their possession.(X)

Here is a list of the kings of the land that Joshua and the Israelites conquered on the west side of the Jordan, from Baal Gad in the Valley of Lebanon(Y) to Mount Halak, which rises toward Seir. Joshua gave their lands as an inheritance to the tribes of Israel according to their tribal divisions. The lands included the hill country, the western foothills, the Arabah, the mountain slopes, the wilderness and the Negev.(Z) These were the lands of the Hittites, Amorites, Canaanites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites. These were the kings:(AA)

the king of Jericho(AB)one
the king of Ai(AC) (near Bethel(AD))one
10 the king of Jerusalem(AE)one
the king of Hebronone
11 the king of Jarmuthone
the king of Lachish(AF)one
12 the king of Eglon(AG)one
the king of Gezer(AH)one
13 the king of Debir(AI)one
the king of Gederone
14 the king of Hormah(AJ)one
the king of Arad(AK)one
15 the king of Libnah(AL)one
the king of Adullam(AM)one
16 the king of Makkedah(AN)one
the king of Bethel(AO)one
17 the king of Tappuah(AP)one
the king of Hepher(AQ)one
18 the king of Aphek(AR)one
the king of Lasharonone
19 the king of Madonone
the king of Hazor(AS)one
20 the king of Shimron Meronone
the king of Akshaph(AT)one
21 the king of Taanach(AU)one
the king of Megiddo(AV)one
22 the king of Kedesh(AW)one
the king of Jokneam(AX) in Carmel(AY)one
23 the king of Dor (in Naphoth Dor(AZ))one
the king of Goyim in Gilgalone
24 the king of Tirzah(BA)one
thirty-one kings in all.(BB)


  1. Joshua 12:3 Hebrew Kinnereth